Roberto Paciencia Cruz, Today Marks Three Years in Prison

presos_25022013

Who is Roberto Paciencia Cruz?

August 7, 2016

Roberto was detained August 7, 2013 and has since been incarcerated in CERESO 5 in San Cristóbal de Las Casas, for a crime didn’t commit. He was accused of kidnapping Anselmo Díaz Pérez and Sandra López Díaz on May 18th, 2103, neither of whom he even knows.

The facts: on August 7, 2013, he was driving a white tsuru in the municipality of Pantheló, when around 11:00 am, he was intercepted by a truck of the state police, where an officer questioned him if he was Roberto Paciencia after which he was arrested, without being presented with an arrest warrant.

He was taken to the presidency of Pantheló and was subsequently moved to the general attorney’s office in Tuxtla, where he was denied his right to make calls and to have any communication. Inside the office, they brutally beat him, especially in his left eye, from which he is now losing his vision.

The compañero Paciencia recounts, “the same day they arrested me they made me sign a document that I didn’t know of or write, and with force made me sign it without me being able to read it. I later learned through a lawyer that I had pleaded guilty to kidnapping.”

Letter:

To the public opinion

To the state, national and international media

To the alternative media

To the Sexta

To the Dioceses of San Cristóbal de las Casas

To the independent organizations

To the non-governmental defenders of human rights

To the national indigenous congress and EZLN

Unjustly imprisoned Roberto Paciencia Cruz, adherent of the sixth declaration of the Lacandona jungle of the EZLN. Held in the penitentiary number 5 of San Cristóbal de la Casas, Chiapas.

The fruit of injustice has led me to three years deprived of my liberty. August 7th marks 3 springs, suffering in this dungeon, while my family also suffers from my absence in the place where I grew up. The passing of this date saddens me to see the injustices that I am living from this fabricated crime.

In spite of the attempts they have made to get the man that accused me, he has never showed up. That is why I demand that the judge and the magistrates release me as soon as possible because it is not just that they have me incarcerated without a crime. On the other hand, I call to the president of the Republic, Enrique Peña Nieto to demand the governor of the state of Veracruz, Javier Duarte de Ochoa for the liberty of the compañero Alejandro Diaz Sántiz. Finally, I invite all of the independent state, national and international organizations to demand justice and freedom for all political prisoners and prisoners unjustly incarcerated by the state, country and world.

Justice and Liberty

Sincerely,

Roberto Paciencia Cruz

Translated by Palabras Rebeldes

Posted by Dorset Chiapas Solidarity on 09/08/2016

http://radiozapote.org/2016/08/07/roberto-paciencia-cruz-hoy-cumple-tres-anos-en-prision/

Leave a Reply

